You are here

IUSSP Laureate Award

In 2021 the IUSSP awarded its 31st Laureate Award to Zeng Yi.


Each year the IUSSP honours one of its members by bestowing its Laureate Award. The IUSSP Laureate Award was established in 1991 to recognize the life-time achievements of outstanding IUSSP members. Contributions to the advancement of population sciences and distinguished service rendered to the IUSSP are considered in making the award. The IUSSP membership nominates candidates for this award and members of the IUSSP Council select the successful candidate by secret ballot after careful review of each candidate’s dossier and testimonials.


To be eligible for consideration, an individual must currently be a member and have been a member of the IUSSP for at least 10 years. He or she must be nominated by five or more IUSSP members from different countries. Members of the current Council may not be nominated for the award. The nomination letter(s) should include a supporting statement and be duly signed by at least five current IUSSP members from different countries. Self-nominations will not be considered. Nominated candidates remain eligible for the award for a period of four years.


For questions regarding a member's eligibility, please contact the IUSSP Secretariat at


Nominations for the 2022 Laureate are open – the deadline to submit nominations has been extended to 1 March 2022.

(Read detailed procedure).


Previous IUSSP Laureates include:

There are currently no employment announcements.