Share
French

 

 

What's new


 Bruno Schoumaker, Université Catholique de Louvain (UCL), is the awardee for the 2021 IUSSP-Mattei Dogan Foundation Award for Comparative Research in Demography. He will give a Keynote on “Male fertility around the World and over time. On tapping untapped data for comparative fertility research" during the Closing Session of the 2021 International Population Conference (IPC2021) on Friday 10 December at 16:00 UTC (11:00 New York / 17:00 Paris / 21:30 New Delhi).  To attend the Conference and listen to Bruno Schoumaker's keynote, register for IPC2021

 


 

IUSSP Bulletin - Issue 53, Sept 2021

 


IUSSP Election Results

 

Find out which members will be on the next IUSSP Council (2022-2025) and the 2025 Committee on Nominations. See results.


 

IPC2021 preliminary programme

The preliminary programme of the International Population Conference is available here

 

IPC2021 registration is open

 

Please register here.

 

To qualify for the reduced IUSSP member rate for the conference fee, you should verify your membership before registering. If you need to renew or wish to become a member, click here


 

 

IPC2021 Countdown Events:

 

Geoprocessing and Spatial Analysis
Workshop organized by the IUSSP Early Career Taskforce
Organizer/Instructor: Igor Cavallini Johansen, University of Campinas
Tentative date and time: Tuesday 10 August 2021; 14.00 Central European Summer Time.
Watch a recording of the Training Session and download the presentation.

 

Climate Change and Population Dynamics
Webinar jointly organized by IUSSP, PERN, and EAPS
Organizers: Raya Muttarak, Susana B. Adamo, Alex de Sherbinin
Date and time: Thursday 16 September 2021, 14:00 – 15:30 UTC (10:00 New York | 16:00 Paris | 19:30 New Delhi)
Watch a recording and download the presentation slides and Q&A

 

IUSSP Debate: The wife wants no more births, but the husband does. Can one say that her subsequent pregnancy is unwanted? Organized by the IUSSP Scientific Panel on Couples' Reproductive Health and Fertility. Date and time: Monday 8 November 2021  at 16:00 - 17:15 UTC (11:00 New York | 17:00 Paris | 21:30 New Delhi)
Register to watch a recording of the debate and download the presentation slides

 

Networking event: Your career after a PhD?

Meeting organized by the IUSSP Early Career Network

Date and Time:   24 November 2021 -  5:00 UTC (Asia & Pacific) | 14:00 UTC (Europe & Africa)  |  16:00 UTC (Americas)

Register in advance.

 

Introduction to Multistate Analysis of Population Dynamics
Workshop organized by the IUSSP Early Career Network and the Australian National University
Organizer: Kim Xu
Instructor: Dr. James O'Donnel, School of Demography, Australian National University
Date and Time: Friday 3 December 2021; 5:00-6:30 UTC (00:00 New York / 6:00 Paris / 10:30 New Delhi / 13:00 Shanghai / 16:00 Canberra / 19:00* on Dec 2, Honolulu / 21:00* on Dec 2, Los Angeles)
Registration in advance here


Subnational Probabilistic Population Projections
3-4 December 9am-noon Eastern Time - 18:30-21:30; Indian time --15:00-18:00;  Central European Time; and 6am-9am Pacific Time.
Registration required 


IUSSP 2021 Laureate Ceremony for Zeng Yi
21 October 2021 - 12:00 to 13:30 UTC
 

The Case for a World Migration Survey

Marcela Cerrutti, Philippe Fargues and Mariama Awumbila

 

This IUSSP Policy & Research Paper advocates for the development and implementation of a World Migration Survey (WMS) to generate international comparative information on significant and unrevealed aspects of migrants and migration. Results of a world migration survey will inform a wide range of policy-relevant debates. (read more)


 


 

IUSSP Webinar Series:

Debate: Should FP programs in patriarchal societies use limited funds to further empower women or to involve men?

1 June 2021

- Watch video-recording

 

Webinar on Population, Food and the Environment
9 April 2021

- Watch video-recording


 

IUSSP Panels

New Panel with CODATA on FAIR vocabularies

To support the growing movement to make data “Findable, Accessible, Interoperable, and Reusable” (FAIR), the IUSSP Council has approved a new Panel, which will be a joint initiative with the International Science Council’s Committee on Data (CODATA). The Panel is co-chaired by George Alter (University of Michigan), Arofan Gregory (DDI Alliance) and Steven McEachern (ANU and DDI Alliance). (Read more)


Demographers’ contributions to the understanding of the COVID-19 pandemic



  In Memoriam


Iwu Dwisetyani Utomo (1956-2021)

We are saddened by the passing of  Dr Iwu Dwisetyani Utomo on 12 May . She was a respected demographer who specialised in gender and population. She served as a member of the Panel on Young People’s Life Course in Developing Countries (2011-14)

 
  

James Ntozi (1945 - 2021)

The IUSSP is saddened to announce the death  of Prof. James Ntozi who passed away on 19th May, 2021 in  Kampala, Uganda at the age of 75. He became an IUSSP member in 1979 and participated actively in past IUSSP Conferences and meetings. 

  

Anatole Vichnevski (1935-2021)

Anatole Vichnevski passed away on Friday January 15, 2021, after having fought  the Covid-19 with all the energy that we knew him. He would have turned 86 on April 1.

 


Membership News


New publications from members :

 

Production of a Vital Statistics Report: Guide (Revision 1), Vital Strategies, UNECA, UNESCAP, and Statistics Norway, 2020.
15 contibutors including Helge Brunborg, Petra Nahmias, Tim Adair, Philip Setel, Farnaz Malik...

 

Data Revolution


For more information see: Demography and the Data Revolution


IUSSP Statement:  Defining and successfully accomplishing the Data Revolution – The perspective of Demographers

IUSSP members are invited to read and comment on recommendations sent to the UN Secretary General's Independent Expert Advisory Group on the Data Revolution for Sustainable Development.

CODATA 2019 Beijing: Towards next-generation data-driven science: policies, practices and platforms, 19-20 September 2019. 

Call for Presentations and Posters: deadline 24 June 2019

How open data can help the Global South, from disaster relief to voter turnout

The Conversation, 20 july 2017

SDSN/IUSSP Report: Harnessing the Data Revolution for Development -Issues in the design and monitoring of SDG indicators

 


 

IUSSP Fellowships on Family Planning, Fertility and Urban Development 

A project to support early career researchers in sub-Saharan Africa and South Asia to produce policy-relevant evidence on family planning and fertility in cities and towns and their links to urban welfare funded by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation. 



 Distance Training 

 

Tools for Demographic Estimation 

This site represents the major output arising from a joint IUSSP and UNFPA project to produce a single volume containing updated tools for demographic estimation from limited, deficient and defective data

 

Population Analysis for Policies & Programmes 

This course introduces users to the methods used by demographers to analyse population data, and the sources of this data and the methods used to collect this data. Throughout the course, students are introduced to the types of issues of interest to demographers through real examples. Included are sessions that introduce broad areas of research through discussion of both global and national trends and sessions that show how demographic methods may be used in researching a range of areas, such as reproductive health, morbidity and health profiles, and the effects of ageing on a population.

Donate